Australie 10AUD 1988 AA 19 099789.jpg

Polymer and hybrid banknotes

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

What is Polymer a polymer (from the Greek "polus", several and "meros", parts) is a natural or synthetic chemical. From a chemical point of view, a polymer is a set made up of several small molecules combine to form larger molecules that contain repeating structural units.

A polymer banknote is a medium of exchange in the form of a banknote, printed on a plastic substrate (also called a carrier), which is issued by a monetary authority (central bank) and which circulates as legal tender in a given country. Polymer banknotes include polyethylene-based banknotes (early polymer banknotes) whose substrate name is Tyvek® (the notes were issued from 1980 to 1988).

Tyvek is a non-woven fabric of high density polyethylene (HDPE) fibers with a thickness between 0.5 and 10 μm. After extrusion, the fibers are arranged in a random and non-directional fashion and then consolidated without binder under pressure by a thermal process.

Tyvek is marketed in sheets or rolls of various sizes.

Since 1988, the polymers have evolved, Guardian and Safeguard increasingly lightweight, durable, recyclable.

While polymer banknotes can be easily distinguished from paper banknotes, hybrid banknotes belong to both worlds. A hybrid banknote is a medium of exchange in the form of a banknote, composed of plastic and paper elements, issued by a monetary authority (central bank) and which circulates as legal tender in a given country. . A hybrid banknote uses paper (cotton) substrate and plastic substrate as integral, intertwined and inseparable components.

 

Hybrid banknote substrates can be polymer strips placed over an opening in the paper. Hybrid laminate substrates can be either plastic-paper-plastic or paper-plastic-paper and may come with or without a polymer window.

More info

Rightly, a collector of polymer banknotes (Michel) pointed out to us that it was not clearly indicated whether the banknote presented was polymer or hybrid. In order to remedy this shortcoming, we have created a small identifying label.

Polymer
Hybrid
Hybrid

Billets de banque polymères et hybrides

Qu’est-ce que le polymère ? un polymère (issu du grec « polus », plusieurs et « meros », parties) est un produit chimique naturel ou synthétique. D’un point de vue chimique, un polymère est un ensemble constitué de plusieurs petites molécules se combinent pour former des molécules plus grandes qui contiennent des unités structurelles répétitives.

Un billet de banque en polymère est un moyen d'échange sous forme de billet de banque, imprimé sur un substrat (aussi appelé support) en plastique, qui est émis par une autorité monétaire (banque centrale) et qui circule comme monnaie légale dans un pays donné. Les billets de banque en polymère comprennent les billets de banque à base de polyéthylène (premiers billets de banque en polymère) dont le nom du substrat est Tyvek® (les billets ont été émis de 1980 à 1988).

Le Tyvek est un textile non-tissé de fibres de polyéthylène haute densité (HDPE) d'une épaisseur entre 0,5 et 10 μm. Après extrusion, les fibres sont disposées de façon aléatoire et non-directionnelle et ensuite consolidées sans liant sous pression par un procédé thermique.

Le Tyvek est commercialisé sous forme de feuilles ou de rouleaux de différentes tailles.

Depuis 1988, les polymères ont évolué, Guardian et Safeguard toujours plus légers, résistants, recyclables.

Si les billets polymère peuvent être facilement distinguées des billets papier, les billets hybrides appartiennent aux deux mondes. Un billet de banque hybride est un moyen d’échange sous la forme d’un billet de banque, composé d’éléments en plastique et en papier, émis par une autorité monétaire (banque centrale) et qui circule comme monnaie légale dans un pays donné. Un billet de banque hybride utilise du substrat de papier (coton) et du substrat plastique comme composants intégraux, entrelacés et inséparables.

 

Les substrats de billets de banque hybrides peuvent être des bandes de polymère placées sur une ouverture dans le papier. Les substrats hybrides stratifiés peuvent être soit plastique-papier- plastique ou papier-plastique-papier et peuvent être livrés avec ou sans fenêtre en polymère.

Info plus

A juste titre, un collectionneur de billets polymères (Michel) nous a fait remarquer qu’il n’était pas clairement indiqué si le billet présenté était polymère ou hybride. Afin de remédier à ce manque, nous avons créé une petite étiquette identificatrice.

Clause de non-responsabilité de traduction

Tous les billets présents sur ce site, sont issus d’une collection privée, sans vocation économique ou autre. Tous les documents officiels qui agrémentent ce site, émanent des banques centrales, des autorités monétaires ayant donnés leurs autorisations pour les reproduire et de les traduire. La copie du site, des images sont strictement interdites sans autorisations.     

 © Création Pascal HELLENBRAND - 2018/2020 - tous droits réservés